CREA Now Accepting Nominations for 2024 AEN Award of Excellence

Association Executives (AEs) are the backbone of the REALTOR® association community. Each year, the AEN Award of Excellence presents the opportunity to recognize an AE for their outstanding service to Canadian real estate.

If you know someone who deserves recognition in 2024, nominations are open now until February 1, 2024.

The AEN Award of Excellence was established in 1989 in the name of Frank Johns, a former Executive Vice-President of the Calgary Real Estate Board. He was widely regarded as a mentor and leader among Executive Officers, who shared his wisdom for the betterment of the industry throughout his long career.

A call for nominations is put out by the Canadian Real Estate Association (CREA) every December to search for a deserving recipient. As a career award, it is not mandatory to give the award each year.

The AEN Award of Excellence is presented to an AEN member who exemplifies professionalism, commitment, and leadership within the REALTOR® association community.

Katrina Steffler

Last year, Katrina Steffler, Executive Director of Guelph & District Association of REALTORS®, received the award.

Qualification requirements

  • Executive Officers or senior association staff with more than five years of service in a REALTOR® association can be nominated.
  • Nominees must be AEN members in good standing.
  • The nominee must have the Canadian REALTOR® Association Executive (CRAE)  designation.
  • Nominees must exemplify the characteristics outlined below:
    • Service and dedication to the REALTOR® community;
    • Leadership in association management;
    • Cooperation and support to his/her peers;
    • Participation in professional or service organizations;
    • Community involvement, beyond the call of their position;
    • Accomplishments at the board/association; and
    • Represents the professionalism symbolized by this award.

Any REALTOR® or board or association staff member may nominate an AEN member for the award.  A candidate must also be nominated by at least two people. AE Committee members cannot nominate someone for the award.

The confidential selection process is conducted by a selection committee, chaired by the current Chair of the Association Executives Committee.

Other Past Recipients

Katrina Steffler
Executive Officer
Guelph & District Association of REALTORS®

John DiMichele
Chief Executive Officer
Toronto Regional Real Estate Board

Alan Tennant
Chief Executive Officer
Calgary Real Estate Board®

Bill Duce
Executive Officer
Kitchener-Waterloo Association of REALTORS®

Roger Boutilier
Chief Executive Officer
Nova Scotia Association of REALTORS®

Gord Archibald
Executive Officer
Association of Regina REALTORS®

Bill Madder
Chief Executive Officer
Association of Saskachewan REALTORS®

Eileen Rohs
Executive Officer
REALTORS® Association of Lloydminster & District

Hugh Foy
Director of Commercial and Member Services
Toronto Real Estate Board

Brad Scott
Chief Operating Officer
Real Estate Board of Greater Vancouver

The CREA Café team is responsible for the official blog of The Canadian Real Estate Association (CREA). The CREA Café is a cozy place for CREA to connect with our valued members and friends by sharing our thoughts and insights over a virtual cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *